Posts

Heartless by Marissa Meyer (Audiobook)

Image
 Hey! Apparently January has become the month I catch up on Marissa Meyer's books!  I've been behind for a few years! And now with the access to my local libraries Audiobook database, I get that chance to catch-up!   I have Heartless on my shelf since its release in 2016, and just have never had a chance to read it, or honestly been in the mind set, because I rarely read fantasies at this point; so when it saw on the Libby App, I finally checked-it out via audiobook and began.   From Goodreads: Long before she was the terror of Wonderland -- the infamous Queen of Hearts -- she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen. Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and myste

Mind the Gap, Dash & Lily (Dash & Lily #3) by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan (Audiobook)

Image
 Hey! Here for another review! This one for the third book in the Dash and Lily  series, Mind the Gap, Dash & Lily  by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan! From Goodreads: For Dash and Lily, it's beginning to look a lot like...distance! Just in time for the series release of Dash & Lily on Netflix comes a new helping of love -- this time across the pond as best-selling authors Rachel Cohn and David Levithan send Dash and Lily to England. Dash and Lily were feeling closer than ever...it's just too bad they're now an ocean apart. After Dash gets accepted to Oxford University and Lily stays in New York to take care of her dog walking business, the devoted couple are struggling to make a long distance relationship work. And when Dash breaks the news that he won't  be coming home for Christmas, Lily makes a decision: if Dash can't come to her, she'll join him in London. It's a perfect romantic gesture...that spins out of Lily's control. Soon Dash and Lily

Recommended for You by Laura Silverman

Image
 Hey Everyone! Another review coming your way! This one is of a book I found at the library a couple of weeks ago, and it was an absolute cover-read!  The cover caught my attention, and then once I read the inside flap, I knew this sounded like my kind of book! So here's my review of Recommended for You  by Laura Silverman! From Goodreads: To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets You've Got Mail  in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus. Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at Once Upon, her favorite local bookstore. And with her moms fighting at home and beloved car teetering on the brink of death, the store has become a welcome escape. When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the person who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to at least fix her car, if none of her other problems. The only person standing in her way? New hire Jake Kaplan. Jake i

Heartstopper: Volume 4 by Alice Oseman (Graphic Novel)

Image
 Book #2 of 2022 ✔! Now it was a graphic novel, therefore a fun easy read for me, but still think I'm off to a great start in 2022!    I'm also so excited to have gotten my hands on this one early, because it technically isn't supposed to be released until tomorrow!  But for some reason my local Barnes and Noble already had copies sitting on the shelf, so I ended up sneaking into my pile during the 50% off hardbacks sale, even though this one was a paperback 😉. From Goodreads: Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. The bestselling LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the fourth volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Charlie didn't think Nick could ever like him back, but now they're officially boyfriends. Charlie's beginning to feel ready to say those three little words: I love you. Nick's been feeling the same, but he's got a lot on his

Gilded (Gilded #1) by Marissa Meyer (Audiobook)

Image
I finished my first book of 2022!!   And I did it on January 1st!! Now I did start it last week, when it was technically still 2021, but I still needed to read quite a bit when 2022 started, and after listening over 4 hours yesterday, I finally finished! Gilded , the first book in Marissa Meyer's new series! From Goodreads: Long ago cursed by the god of lies, a poor miller's daughter has developed a talent for spinning stories that are fantasical and spellbinding and entirely untrue. Or so everyone believes. When one of Serilda's outlandish tales draws the attention of the sinister Erlking and his undead hunters, she finds herself swept away into a grim world where ghouls and phantoms prowl the earth and hollow-eyed ravens track every move. The king orders Serilda to complete the impossible task of spinning straw into gold, or be killed for telling falsehoods.  In her desperation, Serilda unwittingly summons a mysterious boy to her aid. He agrees to help her...for a price.

2022 Reading Challenges!

Image
  via GIPHY Happy New Year! I cannot believe it is 2022!  I feel like it was just yesterday that we were welcoming 2020 with the open arms of a gleeful child, only to be met with doom.  But 2022, is going to be better!  Positive thoughts everyone!  I know I am excited for some fun plans already coming up early this year.  For one, my husband and I are taking our son on his first plane ride and we are going to the Walt Disney World to celebrate the 50th anniversary of WDW!!  We are so unbelievably excited to show him one of our favorite places!  So it's hopefully already going to start off as a good year! But a new year also means new goals, new year resolutions, and sometimes even new beginnings for some!  For me this year, I would like to spend 2022 working on myself, especially my mental and physical health.  I hope to continue losing weight, start working out more, and keep up with what I have been doing.  Next, I would like to prioritize my family more.  My husband and son are

My Highlights of 2021

Image
  Hey Everyone! A new year is once again upon us!  I don't know about you, but I feel like 2021 just zoomed by!  Maybe it's because my 15 month old has just grown like a weed, and I just want to 😭 every time I go through photos on my phone and see the changes happening everyday.   2022 is upon us!  Well, almost.  Which means a new year of possibilities, goals, family moments, and so many positive things hopefully.   I honestly can't complain about 2021, not when my family and I have experienced so much worse in the past.  I know this is a weird time we are living in, but I am just so grateful to be here, with my husband and our son, and our grumpy dog.   Some highlights of 2021 were: (these may not be in order) 1.  We went to the reopening of Disneyland.  After 412 days of closure due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Disneyland was able to reopen and my family and I got to go.  It was such an incredible experience, being there, and experiencing such a historic event.   2. I got t